Posted by: preemiedad | October 5, 2007

Money Stinks

Since Elliot was born, I have had four job changes. At each one of those job changes, I have hit my deductible and out of pocket maximum at least once for him. Because of that, I’ve constantly got people on my back trying to get me to send as much money as I don’t have in as many various directions as possible. It’s kind of ridiculous.

Thanks to that, I have gotten behind on almost all of my regular bills. As with last year, I always have to struggle through to tax season to catch them back up, but I hate relying on a tax return, which should mean some extra spending money, to pay bills. This is one of those stupid things that having a preemie will get you.

Part of the problem is that we have been “young and naive” (especially me, not my wife) about just about everything. Last Christmas when Elliot was sick, we took him to the Emergency Room three days in a row AT THEIR ORDER. They continued to charge us our ER co-pay three times and the company they contract out to staff the ER charged us for three separate visits. Sorry, but that just doesn’t make any sense to me.

I feel like if I had had free use of my brain during those times instead of being so stressed out, our financial situation would be much better now. Instead we are forced to have all of our money suctioned off in every direction by everyone imaginable, and constant phone calls from people wanting their money. I don’t know how people do it.

Occasionally, this causes my wife to stress out, and, especially right now, go crazy. With it getting nearer the end of the year, she wants to be able to spend money on gifts. I want her to be able to do that but I don’t know how to make it all work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

