Posted by: preemiedad | September 23, 2008

Some Medical Agencies Are Morons…

Okay, I know I haven’t written in almost a year, but at leat it’s “almost” and not “over”, right?

Over the past year, I have been trying my darnedest to keep on top of our financial situation as best as I can, and I have actually been moderately successful at it having earned two raises at work and generally doing well at paying bills on time.

However, once in a while, a straggler comes along. This time it was University of Utah’s University Healthcare.

Now, I’m not an ingrate (at least, I don’t think I am), I know that I owe money on medical bills, and I have every intention of actually paying them back. I don’t let them slide because I don’t think I should have to pay them. In this case, it was a bill for a single x-ray for my son that my insurance decided not to pay, $171. Now, less than a year later, they slap me with a lawsuit from the Attorney General’s office! WHAT?

I guess that nobody around here like University Healthcare. Far be it for me to say, but if the grand majority of health insurance carriers in your medical center’s area hate you so much that they won’t cover your services, wouldn’t you think you needed to change your policies or something? So it is with them. Every insurance carrier I have had in the past 18 years has not covered services at University Healthcare by default.

Fortunately, I was able to call them and work out a settlement, however I find this extremely shady and will in the future be avoiding their network like the plague. Intermountain Healthcare is surely more annoyed by me than they possibly could have been, but they aren’t filing lawsuits 11 months from the date of service! In fact, even a year ago when things from 2005 were still outstanding two years later, I wasn’t being sued in small claims court. Being sent to collections is one thing, they just skipped that step altogether and filed against me. What a retarded institution.

Leave a Reply

Categories

